Buy Plates Online
Standard license plates cost $5 (plus registration fees). Receive a standard Pure Michigan license plate, motorcycle plate, or trailer plate, or order a specialty Mackinac Bridge graphic or Water-Winter Wonderland plate.
buy plates online
The Michigan Department of State does not sell, administer, or profit from digital license plates. They are legal in Michigan but only sold by private companies and auto dealers. Digital plates serve as representations of the standard metal license plates that vehicle owners purchase and renew with the Secretary of State.
You can renew your registration tab and plate online or by mail or renew and print your tabs instantly at a self-service station. To calculate your renewal fees, check your renewal mailer or use the Renewal Fee Calculator under Online Services.
License plates that are at least 10 years old will be replaced automatically when renewed or transferred. If you lose or damage your license plate or would like to purchase a new plate, you can do so anytime or when you renew your vehicle registration tab and plate.
Order a replacement vehicle tab through your online Secretary of State account for $5. You can also replace and print a copy of your vehicle registration directly from your browser at the same time at no additional charge. Your replacement tab will arrive by mail.
Update your address on your vehicle registration or add a mailing address for your vehicle through your online Secretary of State account or by mail. You can select the option to update your address on your vehicle registration and license/ID at the same time.
Stolen plates should be reported to your local police or sheriff's office. The agency will enter a message into the Law Enforcement Information Network alerting officers that the plate was reported as stolen.
As of November 1, 2016, the State of Texas will no longer automatically replace your plates after 7 years. However, you may still apply at your county tax office for replacement plates if the license plate needs to be replaced for cosmetic or readability reasons.
The plate design was selected by Texans in an online e-Vote. Unfortunately, the plate design was not favored by law enforcement, and some Texans complained the plate's colors clashed with their vehicle color.
This license plate was introduced in 2000, and 31.5 million sets of these plates were manufactured before a new general-issue license plate was launched in 2009. These plates represent the last of a Texas era. The design has the distinction of being the last stamped plate in Texas history, and also the last general-issue plate issued with six characters.
Specialty license plates give your vehicle a personal touch. The license plates catalog of our website gives instructions on how to apply for these plates. For additional assistance, please contact your local county tax assessor-collector's office.
You may check the availability of a personalized phrase, letter or number combination through myplates.com, the state's plate marketing vendor's web site. Personalized messages must be approved by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV). Personalized plate fees are collected in addition to your registration fees and other applicable fees.
Specialty license plates with random or personalized numbers are issued for a one, five, or ten year term. At the end of each term, prior to expiration, your annual registration renewal notice will remind you that it is time to renew. If your specialty plate selection is not renewed within 60 days of expiration, the TxDMV system will automatically cancel the specialty plate selection, making it available for anyone to order.
It is simple and free to transfer your license plates to your new vehicle. The TxDMV encourages you to transfer your plates because it protects you. Your local county tax assessor-collector's office will assist with the transfer and issue you a new registration sticker for your vehicle.
State law authorizes the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) to offer digital license plates for use on certain eligible vehicles. A vehicle may be equipped with a digital license plate only if the vehicle:
Texas digital license plates, manufactured by Reviver, are available beginning June 1, 2022. Multiple plate models are offered at various prices through Reviver. The vehicle must already be registered in Texas to qualify for a digital license plate. An annual $95 administrative fee is applied to digital license plate orders, in addition to the price of the plate.
Register your new car, truck or motorcycle online without a DMV office visit! You can transfer existing license plates or get new plates in the mail. Choose from standard or charitable plates.
Online registration renewal using DRIVES e-Services is available in some counties. Your renewal notice will have information about online registration if your county participates. To renew online you will need the following:
NOTE: If you do not receive your new registration plates or tabs before your current registration expires, you can use a temporary vehicle registration receipt as proof of registration. This receipt is valid for up to 30 days or upon receipt of your plates or tabs in the mail. Simply print the registration receipt at the end of your online transaction and carry it in your vehicle at all times.
New! It's easier than ever to "go green" and opt out of vehicle registration renewal postcards, and receive email or text message reminders instead. Click on the Go Green! button at the top of of tncountyclerk.com when you renew your vehicle registration online.
The Department of Revenue administers more than 100 specialty license plates to residents registering private motor vehicles. Please check with your local county clerk's office for plate availability.
Use our online application to personalize any standard passenger plate or certain specialty license plates for vehicles and motorcycles for a cost of $35. This fee is in addition to the regular state registration fee and any applicable county fees and/or specialty plate fees.
Upon purchase of a newly acquired motor vehicle, trailer, or cycle, you may purchase a temporary permit from the dealer to operate the vehicle when no plates are available for transfer. (Missouri dealers can sell temporary permits to out-of-state residents only if they are purchasing motor vehicles, trailers, or cycles from their dealership).
Credit of registration is available for many types of vehicle-to-vehicle registration transfers. And, in limited situations, the actual license plates may also be transferred to the new vehicle without having to obtain new license plates.
Sherman College of Chiropractic license plate is sponsored by Sherman College. The proceeds will be used to provide scholarships to South Carolina students who attend Sherman College. The cost for the plate is $70 every two years in addition to the regular registration fees. You must submit a completed Application for Special Plate (SCDMV Form MV-95) along with required fees. This plate is available through the mail and online.
The Air Force license plate is available to South Carolina residents who have served or currently serving active duty in the Air Force. To apply, you must present official documentation certifying that you have been honorably discharged along with a completed Application for Military License Plate (SCDMV Form MV-37). The cost for the plate is the regular registration fee. You may be issued three plates within the Air Force plate class to include Air Force and Air Force Motorcycle. This plate is available by mail only.
This license plate is available to South Carolina Residents who have been awarded the Distinguished Service Cross Air Force. You must present a Department of Defense Form DD-214 or other official documentation certifying you have been awarded the Distinguished Service Cross Air Force, along with the completed Application for Military License Plate (SCDMV Form MV-37). Surviving spouse may obtain a new plate in their name if not remarried and must complete Surviving Spouse Certification listed on application. This plate allows free parking at municipal parking meters. This plate is exempt from fees. You may be issued three plates within the Distinguished Service Cross Air Force plate class to include Distinguished Service Cross Air Force and Distinguished Service Cross Air Force Motorcycle. This plate is available by mail only.
The Air Force Distinguished Service Medal license plate is available to South Carolina residents who have been awarded the Air Force Distinguished Service Medal. You must show documentation that certifies you've been awarded the Distinguished Service Medal for the Air Force and a completed Application for Military Plate (SCDMV Form MV-37). Surviving spouse may obtain a new plate in their name if not remarried and complete the Surviving Spouse Certification on the application. This plate allows free parking at municipal parking meters. This plate is exempt from fees. You may be issued three plates within the plate class to include Air Force Distinguished Service Medal and Air Force Distinguished Service Medal Motorcycle. This plate is available by mail only.
The Air Medal license plate is available to South Carolina residents who have been awarded the Air Medal. You must present a US Department of Defense Form DD-214 or other official documentation certifying that you have been awarded the Air Medal along with a completed Application for Military Plate (SCDMV Form MV-37). The cost for the plate is the regular registration fee. This plate can be purchased for cars, motorcycles or light trucks with an empty weight of 9,000 pounds or less and a gross vehicle weight of 11,000 pounds or less. You may be issued three plates. This plate is available by mail only. 041b061a72